George Dacy

March 4, 2010 at 11:17 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Yesterday a great man died. His name was George Dacy, and I owe him a debt I could never even begin to repay. For many years he served as an advisor to a student organization that was a large part of my life in college. It was a small role, and largely ceremonial except in organizational crises. But crisis or not, he was there at the meeting every single week, without fail.

I had the privilege of working with him during perhaps the largest crisis the organization had ever seen. The organization’s treasurer the previous semester–an accounting major, ironically enough–had through negligence, fraud or some other sort of malfeasance drained the organization accounts to nearly zero. When this was discovered, he disappeared from town, leaving his apartment littered with papers and garbage, which we waded through to try and find what financial records we could. He was of course thrown out of office immediately and a special election was held to fill his place. I was elected on a platform of, essentially, “1. I’m the bitchiest person running, and you know you can count on me to fix this.” Of course, no one in that room ever asked me out on a date again.  But at the end of the semester we were solvent, and I really don’t think anyone else there had the balls for that task.

But even I couldn’t have done it without George Dacy.  Because when we gave him all the cash for safekeeping after our new member ceremony at the beginning of the semester, I got the envelope that following Monday with substantially more money than he’d been given.  I didn’t know this until long afterward, because I had not been elected yet, and so had not been the one to collect the money.  And it made all the difference.  And then he and his fellow advisor, David Rainey, had my back on every single decision I made that semester, whether the president of the organization liked it or not.

I owe him a personal debt as well.  He wrote recommendation letters for me, both for pharmacy and for medical school.  I never saw the one he wrote for medical school.  But when he filled out the evaluation form for pharmacy school, he rated me “outstanding” across the board.  I begged him to change one of them to something less superlative, because, I told him, no one would take his recommendation seriously if he wasn’t critical of something about me.  And he replied, “but that’s what I really think, and I’m not going to lie just so someone will believe me.  So if you want me to fill out this form, you’ll have to live with being outstanding.”

That’s the kind of guy he was.  He always saw the best in people, and I have no doubt that I was only one of many whom he supported so unconditionally in all their endeavors.  We’ve lost a very bright light with his death, and I am sad to hear of it.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sorry for your loss. Sounds like he was a good mentor. In describing how he handled things you’ve given some nice suggestions for being a good mentor. I’ll keep this in mind when mentoring students.

  2. Mr Dacy was one of the finest men I have ever known. I met Mr Dacy in Spring 1983 when I pledged APO. He was always the voice of wisdom but also knew the value of a good time. Heck, he didn’t even get mad when I spilled a beer across his rec room floor one Saturday afternoon when several of us popped in for a visit. One of the most flattering things I ever experienced was after Roger & Stephanie Ludlow’s wedding (which I couldn’t attend), Mr Dacy remembered me and asked after me, despite not having seen me in over 20 years.

    God bless you, Mr. Dacy. I would consider it a privilege to see you on the other side someday.

  3. Thank you so much for making your comments available. I used them in the eulogy that I delivered at George’s funeral service this morning. Although he was older by 6 months, George is my father-in-law’s nephew.

    Jane Dryden Louis

  4. I am just finding out that Mr. George Dacy passed away. I am a member of the first George Dacy Pledge Class of the Alpha Rho Chapter of Alpha Phi Omega. I remember Mr. Dacy as a kind and generous man who knew the meaning of integrity and selflessness. I remember visiting him at his downtown shoe store when I was in college. When I graduated from UT, I sent him and Leverne an invitation not expecting anything to come from it. Today, I still have displayed in my study the four leaf clover paper weight they gave me for graduation. Each time I look at it or clean it, I am reminded of Mr. Dacy. Over the years, I have sent him Christmas cards and every time I did, I always got one in return. The following year I would look for a card and it would bring a smile to my face. I am saddened to know that he is gone, but it is with great joy that I will meet him again in heaven. My life is better for having know Mr. Dacy and it is with great pride that I am a member of his first pledge class. He was always so amazed that the fraternity had decided to name a pledge class after him.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.