Meh, happy new year everyone.

January 1, 2010 at 2:20 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

For once, I’m neither happy nor sad to see the year end.   2009 was kind of blah.  Which I guess is not so bad in a life like mine, where the boring and conventional are in short supply.

It really hasn’t been a good year, although there have been far worse.  It was much closer to the middle of the scale than to either end, really.  I’ve learned a lot of new things, and met a lot of new people.  I even managed to meet a few who didn’t remind me of someone else I’d met before.  But it hasn’t gotten me closer to any of my major goals in life.  I feel like I’m just treading water, waiting for the arrival of that epiphany I can sense just over the horizon.

I don’t have any new year’s resolutions.  The things I need to do require substantially more dedication than the average new year’s resolution, so the whole idea that changing one particular detail of my life will make all the difference is kind of a joke.  Plus, new year’s resolutions imply that there’s something you dislike about yourself and want to change.  And I don’t actually want to change myself, I just want to be the best version of myself that’s humanly possible. Which involves a multitude of small choices, every day, rather than any single big poor decision.

Yeah, I try to set the bar low like that.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Couldn’t agree more with the last paragraph.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.