Shhhhh! It’s a secret.

November 20, 2009 at 5:27 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

When I first moved here, I thought this place was going to be like the poor white trash cousin of its neighboring state, with which I’m fairly familiar.

But it turns out I’m wrong.  In fact, it’s a mystery to me why millions of people chose to live there instead of here.  This place is much prettier, and has a far more tolerable climate.  Not to mention better skiing within a reasonable driving distance.  As a city, it’s missing only a Chipotle.  Everything else is here.

Now, granted, the lack of a Chipotle (or its copycat, Qdoba) is a big void.  But I lived for two and some-odd years in New Orleans without one.  And I’m confident one will find its way here eventually (unlike NOLA with its distaste for non-local franchises, Starbucks in particular).

The city isn’t at its best this particular time of year.  But the department showed itself off well at its last interview day.  I was trying to view the day from the perspective of an applicant, and I have to admit, the morning conference was impressive.  And the ICU here is as nice as anything you’d find elsewhere.   Really, all it would take is one competitive applicant to be impressed and vocal about it, to put this place on the map.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ll trade you my multiple Chipotles for your Taco Cabana.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.