NOLA 2009

October 25, 2009 at 1:49 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

OK, my neurosurgery peeps.  I know you want to know where to go in New Orleans.

Because you don’t want to go to Bourbon street.  Really.  It’s full of tourists and it smells like vomit. So here are some suggestions, courtesy of me (and people who are much cooler than me).

Food:

  1. Port of Call
  2. Franky and Johnny’s
  3. La Crepe Nanou
  4. Commander’s Palace (of course)
  5. Brigtsen’s
  6. Cafe Degas

Drinking/Hanging out:

  1. Balcony Bar
  2. Monkey Hill
  3. Bulldog
  4. Superior Grill
  5. Dos Jefes Cigar Bar
  6. F&M’s

Dancing/Music:

  1. Tipitina’s
  2. Maple Leaf
  3. d.b.a.
  4. Twi Ro PA

Coffeehouses:

  1. CC’s on Magazine/Jefferson (my favorite place to study)
  2. Rue de la Course
  3. PJ’s
  4. Cafe du Monde (have the beignets, or don’t bother going)

There are more.  You pretty much can’t go wrong anyplace on Magazine or Tchoupitoulas (“chop” in local parlance).

And last I heard, Joe’s next to Tulane Hospital no longer exists (sniff). Good old Lab J.  There’s some new hangout a couple streets over, now.  Handsome Willy’s, I think it’s called, but I remember it being more of an LSU med hangout than a Tulane one.  And I doubt it has an x-ray viewbox like Joe’s did.

Anyway, have fun, and laissez les bon temps roulez!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.