Fair vs right

August 9, 2009 at 7:13 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I get a sense from the residents here that they’d consider it unfair if the place I just interviewed at offered me a spot.  No one’s said anything overtly, but there’s the unspoken question hanging in the air, “why you? what makes you so special?”

And it certainly wouldn’t be fair.  Then again, “fair” presumes that the playing field is level.  But there’s nothing fair about whether or not we’re given an opportunity in life, there is only what we make of the opportunities we’re given, and what that says about us.  And I know I’d make the most of that opportunity, and that it wouldn’t be wasted on me.

There’s a whole crapload of “unfair” I’ve been dealt in my life, and wouldn’t it be great if I really could build that metaphorical skyscraper of a career that I talked about so many years ago, despite it all.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.