Fellowship City

June 16, 2009 at 3:53 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Well, as you can tell from this post, my computer is back up and running. Which also means that the Desk From Hell has been successfully reassembled. No really, this desk is evil. Or, rather, whoever designed it is a serious sadist. It’s modular, and consists of two side cabinets with a desk surface and keyboard drawer suspended between them. It requires two people to assemble, or else one very strong and dexterous person and a stack of textbooks to support the weight of the centerpiece. I put it together once by myself, and then I wised up and punted it to the moving guys.

So I’m in my new apartment, and so far I like this place. In fact, I really lucked out, considering that I signed the lease with only a few pictures and a property description in hand. It could easily have been an epic fail. But on the contrary, there’s a Whole Foods nearby, along with a Borders bookstore and a Wal-Mart. And the apartment itself is chock full of creature comforts: garage, fireplace, washer/dryer, extra storage, large closets, patio & yard (the yard is shared with the other apartments in my building, but from my apartment it looks entirely private). AND, I discovered that the tiny TV I bought in Seattle is actually HD-ready. And the HD box costs the same as the regular cable box here, so I have HDTV now. Tiny, tiny HDTV, but still, woohoo!

I also got a kitten, let’s call her the Stormsurge, who is currently driving me nuts. I had forgotten how energetic kittens are, and how much attention it takes to civilize them. Although this particular kitten’s worst behavior is fairly easily managed by a quick spray of water. And she learns quickly what sort of mischief will earn her the spray. But I’m covered with scratches now, to the extent that I look like some sort of bizarre cutter who cuts on her extensor surfaces rather than the usual flexors.

Recently I had a discussion with someone who was somewhat unhappy with his current circumstances, and was considering a possible change at some point in the future. We agreed that the grass is often not greener elsewhere, and most times you end up just exchanging one set of problems for another. Or at least, that’s how we talk ourselves into keeping the status quo.

But you know, sometimes it really is greener on the other side. Certainly it’s greener here than I expected.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congrats on the successful move. Hopefully it continues to be a good change.

  2. You and me both.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.