The worst form of government, except for all the others

September 30, 2008 at 5:55 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

If you aren’t living under a rock, you’re probably aware of the multifaceted political and financial fiasco that’s currently sucking up all the news-related airtime and bandwidth across the U.S. If I owned a house, or any stock I was counting on for retirement, the last two weeks would not be funny. At all.

But since neither of those things are true, I’m finding each news cycle to be even more nutty and entertaining than the last. These people need either a psychiatrist, or a nanny. I can’t figure out which. Seriously, this whole bailout episode is comedy worthy of Shakespeare. It’s too bad he isn’t still alive to write a play about it.

And what a PR nightmare for McCain. And I really don’t see how the Republican party can come back from this in just 4 weeks. And Palin, well, we’ll see in two days if she can rise to the occasion. She’s flubbed multiple opportunities so far, so the odds aren’t in her favor. All that Biden has to do is treat her like a colleague, no matter what she says or does, and he wins. Bonus points if she starts throwing her trademark cheap shots and folksy soundbites at him.

From what I’ve seen of Sarah Palin so far, if I were interviewing her for a job, I wouldn’t hire her. She has a very dumb kind of charisma that is mostly disruptive, and unproductive to have in an organization. She brings nothing of substance to the table. I might hire McCain, strictly to have an independent voice in the mix, but I wouldn’t let him make any critical decisions. I would want Biden as an advisor and attack dog, and I’m still not sure what Obama would be good at, other than delivering bad news in an upbeat way.

I wish there were more options.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.