Stay on target. Stay on target.

June 23, 2008 at 9:23 pm | Posted in internship | Leave a comment

Holy crap, everyone and their dog decided to consult vascular and thoracic surgery today. I should just do like my fellow intern does, and send everyone back to the ICU. It would make my life so much easier.

People can say what they want, but eventually the outcome data speaks for itself. And I take some pride in the fact that my patients rarely have setbacks that severe. Even if it makes my life as an intern miserable.

You know, I’ve read Catch-22. Or, at least, it took a few chapters to get boring and predictable. And I sometimes wonder if I’m the crazy person for caring about my outcomes, instead of being solely concerned with lightening my load at any cost. I don’t know.

Nonetheless, the list was ridiculous today. For every person we managed to get off it, we got at least one more added on. It’s insane to have one intern running this service. Particularly one who knew nothing at all about vascular disease just 8 weeks ago.

Anyway, enough venting. I still have work to do this evening.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.