After the storm

May 30, 2008 at 8:20 pm | Posted in internship | 1 Comment

I am inexplicably happy this evening, and I can’t figure out why. There are so many reasons NOT to be happy today: I was in clinic all day, I still don’t have a job next year and I can’t get anyone to even answer my emails about finding one. I hardly ever see the sun, and I haven’t swam in weeks. And there’s certainly no new man in my life to explain it.

Nonetheless.

Maybe it had something to do with scrubbing in on a pericardial window this evening, which I’d never seen before. Or maybe it’s because I finally found a set of gloves that fit my arachnodactylic hands, and it was instantly ten times easier to tie knots. Or maybe it’s just that I have the weekend off.

I’m basically a happy person, and have been all my life. There has to be a lot of shit going on to get me down. Which means there’s been an awful lot of it these last few years, because it’s been a while since the balance tipped toward the happy side when I wasn’t on a neurosurgery rotation.

So I can’t explain it–I just feel like my old self again. And boy did I miss me.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay!


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.