I bet some duct tape would have held those levees together

April 30, 2007 at 2:34 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Damn apartment. Today the toilets were backed up. Both of them. So I had to have the maintenance guy out yet again. It’s OK, though…I’m only living here for another month, and then it’s on to Seattle. I sent my 30 days notice in last Friday, along with a nice note to the property manager. I like her, despite all the problems I’ve had with this place (and there have been many). She lost her house in Katrina, and for a long time was driving back and forth from Baton Rouge in order to keep her job here.

So it’s always been a cost/benefit analysis over whether to stay here, with the pluses of a decent person as property manager and a great location just barely outweighing the minuses of a crappy property with a revolving door on the other side of the duplex, on a street requiring an off-road suspension system. And did I mention the burglaries? Yes, that’s plural.

But it’s 5 blocks from CC’s, 3 blocks from Whole Foods and 5 minutes from the pool where I swim. I think about that every time I consider moving out. In fact, I’m pretty certain that if I had actually liked this apartment, I would have seriously considered staying at Tulane for my prelim year.

I still probably wouldn’t have. Seattle has better infrastructure for resident training, as well as for health care in general. And housing. So if I have to live in a cardboard box, at least I’ll be living in a new one, and not an old, soggy, drafty one with temperamental plumbing.

Right now, it seems like the only things staving off disaster are duct tape and other people’s sympathy.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.