Traction, finally

April 24, 2007 at 8:37 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Well, the fun continues. My rear tire is flat. And from the loud hissing sound it’s making now that it’s reinflated, I’m guessing it’ll be flat again tomorrow morning. If it isn’t already.

I’m perfectly capable of putting the spare on, all by myself. I’ve done it before. But what I may do instead is just put some more air in and drive it to the tire place tomorrow morning. It’s only six blocks to the gas station, and remarkably, the entire stretch of road is smoothly paved. Hard to believe in the this town, I know.

But hurray! I finally get to buy new tires. The tires that Honda uses for original equipment just plain suck. When my old Altima had needed tires, some guy at NTB gave me a set of Pirelli rain tires for super cheap–he said they were being discontinued and the store had to get rid of them. They were the best tires I ever had for driving in the rain. In contrast, my Honda’s tires have horrible wet-weather traction. It was bad enough in the torrential downpours of Texas and Louisiana; it’s completely unacceptable in a temperate rainforest like western Washington.

Of course, the irony here is that I bought the car in Seattle. And I decided right then that those tires had to go. I just couldn’t bring myself to buy new ones before it was necessary.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.