Nothing ventured, nothing gained

August 14, 2006 at 8:42 pm | Posted in medical licensing exams, neurosurgery | 2 Comments

Well, I was just about to shell out a hundred bucks for a question bank covering Step 2 topics, when I remembered that Tulane had bought us access to ExamMaster this past year. Now, I have no idea whether ExamMaster is any good or not, because there’s almost zero word of mouth out there about it. But since my score on Step 2 doesn’t matter a whole lot, I might as well use whatever free resources I have on hand. I did OK on my shelf exams, so with a reasonable amount of studying, and some focused effort to learn OB/GYN stuff, I should be fine.

I doubt I would have used it for Step 1, though. The stakes were just too high to be using an untested resource.

So I think I’ve figured out where to apply. My ideal program would be 6 years total in length (including intern year), with a full year of research, good breadth and depth of research mentoring, especially in neuro-oncology, be known for producing technically excellent surgeons, have a 6 month peds component at a hospital with a strong peds program, be rigorous but not malignant, and be someplace with good weather most of the year.

I did not restrict myself to any particular region. Why should I?

I mean, really, tell me why. It’s not a rhetorical question.

Of course, no program has it all. So I compromised on something with every program. A lot of things if both the peds and the neuro-onc were there, not as much if one of those two were missing, and not much else if both were lacking. The only two programs that didn’t have to meet my criteria were Tulane and LSU, because they’re my home programs.

As my research mentor says, it’s like dating. Dating indiscriminately is a sign of desperation, and so is applying to a bunch of programs without screening them based on your own goals. She also said that programs know where else you’re applying, even if you don’t tell them, and you want to be able to explain clearly why you applied to their program in particular.

Now, I’m not entirely sure I’m competitive for all the programs to which I’m applying. But you never know if you don’t try.

Which brings me to one last thing. There will be no more talk of the guy on here. I had a point to make about how inappropriate it is to talk about things in a public forum that should first be shared privately. (Edit: why is that a problem when it’s all things I’d want to hear? Because when no name is mentioned and I haven’t been told privately, I have to assume it’s not directed at me. My other choice is crazy by definition. So I lose either way, and THAT’s what pisses me off.) Well, the mile is up and I’m well aware that women’s shoes aren’t made for walking. So no more of that from me.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I wanted to make sure you were aware of a blogger conference to be held in New Orleans on the Katrina anniversary weekend. It’s called Rising Tide, and more information can be found here.

  2. Hello from England.
    Just popped by to say Hi and let you know that PharmaGossip is now linked to you.

    Cheers

    Jack


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.